looking for a good shower cleaner

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “High Noon.”

I’ve made my own cleaners for a long time now. Part of the reason is I’m a cheapskate, and it costs less. Part of it is that commercial cleaners, with their strong smell, tend to make my head hurt. A lot.

Most homemade cleaners involve vinegar in some form. It doesn’t usually take much to get the job done, and the smell of vinegar dissipates quickly. It’s never been a problem before.

Today it was a problem.

For a while now, I’ve been seeing this recipe for shower cleaner. One cup of Dawn dishwashing liquid plus one cup of hot vinegar. Combine in a spray bottle. Thoroughly spray down your shower, wait an hour, then rinse.

From reading the comments, this was supposed to be life-changing. A sparkling clean shower, no scrubbing, no harsh bathroom cleaners.

At noon today, I was thinking that I hate this recipe and I desperately need to rinse off the showers walls–RIGHT. NOW.

Ugh. That is waaaaaaaaay too much vinegar.

So no deep, profound thoughts from me at noon today–just the realization that my quest for a good shower cleaner still continues.

Anyone have any suggestions? Preferably ones that don’t include vinegar–at least not that much. But I really would love a GREAT homemade shower cleaner. Or even a commercial one that doesn’t have a strong smell.

