who’s on this journey with me?

I’m supposed to be thinking about my ideal audience.

To be honest, my ideal audience is anyone willing to read my rambling thoughts. I’m not that picky.

But it’s a fair question, really. Who’s going to enjoy this blog? Who might benefit from it? Or am I really just talking to myself?

I hope not. I don’t really want to fill the interwebs with mindless chatter that doesn’t do anyone any good.

So whom am I addressing? Well, I’d say anyone interested in whole person health–the physical, spiritual, and mental/emotional. Maybe you won’t like my suggestions for any of those areas. Maybe we’ll take different routes to achieve wholeness. All three of these areas can lead to robust debate as to what’s right and what’s wrong. But I’d say if you’re willing to join the conversation (and be polite about it), then come on in. I love discussions and listening to others–even if I don’t end up agreeing. Hopefully there are some folks out there who feel the same.

To help you figure out if this is a place for you, here’s how I approach the three areas:

  1. Spiritual health. I’m a Christian, so obviously my ideas and suggestions for this category will be rooted firmly in that. I’ll cover things like Bible study, prayer, fasting, Scripture memorization, liturgies and rituals, etc. If you wish to discuss other religions and spiritual practices in the comments, I’m willing to listen respectfully as long as you’re polite.
  2. Physical health. I’m kind of an odd hybrid between natural/alternative health and conventional medicine (basically I get flak from both sides). I honestly see a place for both. I’m grateful for both. So you can expect to see both mentioned here. But much of my thoughts in this category will probably be related to diet, exercise, migraine prevention and treatment, menstrual comforts, and natural remedies.
  3. Mental/emotional health. I’m not 100% sure where this section will go. It’s an important aspect of health, to be sure. The time I lost to postpartum depression affected every single area of my life. But I think it’s probably the hardest to address and do it well. I’ll probably mostly quote experts here, although I’ll try to include some personal things as well. I’m certainly open to ideas in this department!

Tonight I did manage to combine all three areas in one lovely activity.  combined a cup of Epsom salts, a half cup of baking soda, and 10 drops of lavender essential in a hot bath. It helped with some physical pain I was having, and it was mentally, emotionally, and physically relaxing. For the spiritual aspect, I listened to this album from Andrew Peterson. I bought it on CD years ago. When I wore out the CD, I bought it again on iTunes–I love it that much. If you’re in a hurry, “Just As I Am” and “Silence of God” are my two favorites.

Love and Thunder

7 thoughts on “who’s on this journey with me?

  1. The link works just fine, listening to the Love and Thunder album as I write this comment. 🙂 I love your layout, (I have the same theme). You have written this assignment so well that you have convinced me that I’ll becoming back to visit your blog for sure. Just a side note, I see that you have the same widgets in your sidebar and footer, not sure if you intended it that way, but having them just once will serve you better. Seems less cluttered that way. 🙂
    In His love, a fellow Blogging 101 classmate.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Being a Good Neighbour | Words in Empty Spaces

Comments are closed.