an unintentional experiment: the importance of omega 3’s

We all know that omega 3 fatty acids are essential for our overall health. I can’t remember where I first read about their importance for the female reproductive system or their usefulness in migraine prevention. I just remember that as my menstrual issues and migraines got worse several years ago, the same supplement being recommended for both caught my attention. I began taking a krill oil supplement.

In an ideal world, we’d get all of our vitamin, mineral, and other nutritional needs from food. Real food–not pills. I absolutely believe that’s how it’s supposed to work. However, as much as I constantly strive to improve my diet, I’m not there yet. So I take a whole food multivitamin and several specific supplements to address my various issues.

I’d love to reduce the number of pills I have to take, though. And since I’ve been making a deliberate effort to eat more fish lately, I thought maybe I was to the point where I could drop that one. I wasn’t sure anymore how much difference that particular supplement was making anyway.

It just so happened that when I ran out of the krill oil, we were a bit strapped financially. Spending money on a supplement I wasn’t sure was necessary or beneficial didn’t seem like the best idea. So I just didn’t order a refill.

I regretted that decision.

Side note: yes, science nerds, I hear you now: “Correlation does not equal causation!” I know that. And maybe all this is a big fat coincidence. But since research does indicate the use of omega 3s for easing menstrual difficulties, I’m going to assume it isn’t coincidental.

To be completely fair, I didn’t return to the horrendous cycles I had before I started all this stuff. But I did notice a marked difference this time and not in a good way. Most particularly I had some issues mid-cycle (and I won’t bore you with the details) that I hadn’t seen in a long time.

I ordered more krill oil this week. Maybe someday I’ll eat enough fish to not need this stuff, but that day is not today.

