steps leading to a health breakthrough

I promised in this post that I wouldn’t bore you with a bunch of back story.

I’m going to have to bore you with a little bit here, or this post (and my excitement) won’t make much sense.

Apologies.

For the female population, every 28 days or so an event occurs which (depending on the female) ranges from annoying inconvenience to utter torture and misery. We’re all adults here, so no biology lesson needed, but if the topic does make you squeamish or uncomfortable you have permission to bail now.

I can’t say I’ve ever been blessed with light, easy periods. But I can pinpoint the change from what was normal for me to what couldn’t be considered “normal” for anyone. It happened right after giving birth to my second child. My periods descended into something resembling a personal hell (of course she’s worth it).

Migraines that lasted for days. Flow so heavy I couldn’t stand up (I joked that it was biblical, like in Genesis 31 when Rachel told Laban that she couldn’t stand before him). Massive clots. And while my “before” periods lasted for five days, almost like clockwork, these lasted for anywhere from seven days to two weeks (or longer).

You can see where all this might interfere with my ability to live my life.

A couple of years ago, I started using a natural progesterone cream. Forget being worth its weight in gold–this stuff is diamonds or platinum or something. Not only did it help relieve my postpartum depression, it lessened the agony of menstruation. I also started using an evening primrose oil supplement and drinking a daily cup of red raspberry leaf tea (that stuff is nasty, but it works!). And I added this essential oil blend. Now I only had one or two days of heavy, I-can’t-get-off-the-couch flow. The total duration also went down to seven or eight days instead of ten or more.

Now for the good news: I am finishing up a period now. I’ve had the headache like always. I’ve had some cramping. BUT. No clots. No massively heavy flow–not even for a day or two.

I’m amazed. And relieved. And excited. And I’ve been trying to figure out what finally flipped that last switch.

I think I’ve got it. I did recently add Vitamin D, Coenzyme Q10,  and a Vitamin B complex to my supplement routine, but I’m not sure that any of those would have much effect on my menstrual cycle. Maybe they did though. And I’m certain the water and yoga was beneficial. But I was also drinking green smoothies the first couple of days of my period this time. I think that the high-octane nutrition must have played an important part. It certainly couldn’t hurt, right?

I think I have my next health goal, don’t you? Clearly I need more green smoothies in my life! 🙂

One thought on “steps leading to a health breakthrough

  1. Pingback: pondering the second experiment | wholehealthexperiment

Comments are closed.